Wauconda Township Historical Society

711 N. Main St., Wauconda, Ill. 60084

E-mail: wauconda.history@gmail.com

Tel.: 847.526.9303



Individual: $10

Family: $15

Sustaining: $25

Life: $100




Click here for 2009 Calendar


The Wauconda Township Historical Society was founded in 1973 to collect and preserve the history of this township, which includes the villages of Wauconda, Lake Barrington, Lakemoor, Port Barrington, Volo, and part of Island Lake.


In 1977, the society acquired the use of the Andrew C. Cook House, which was the first permanent (non-log cabin) home built in the township and the site of the first township meeting. The house was built in the early 1850s by Andrew Cook, one of the founders of the village of Wauconda. It was built in three stages, out of bricks that Cook fired in his own kiln, and it remained in the possession of the Cook family for almost a century. In 1992 it was recognized as an historical marker by the Illinois State Historical Society.  The Wauconda Township Historical Society maintains the building as a museum, housing artifacts, photographs, genealogical records, and archival materials related to the township’s history and residents.  


In addition to maintaining the Cook House, the historical society offers programs two or three times a year on topics relevant to the area’s history. Recently, Burnell Russell, the mayor of Volo, spoke to us about that town’s incorporation; Dale Buttolph gave a talk about the Palatine, Lake Zurich & Wauconda railway line; and we took a ‘field trip’ out to Golden Oaks Farm on Bonner Road, where Nate Janssen and some of the farm’s ‘old timers’ gave a fascinating presentation about the farm’s history, its role in developing the Holstein breed of cattle, its internship program, and some of the challenges they’re facing with the spread of suburbia.


We plan to close out the year with our Christmas party (see schedule for details). Hope to see you there. 


Historical or genealogical research can be undertaken by the historical society upon request; contact Judy Eschenbach at 847.526.3071 or Lynn McAlister at 847.526.6225, ext. 265.




Lynn McAlister, President

Judy Eschenbach, Vice President

Dale Buttolph, Secretary

Roberta Francisco, Treasurer


Board members:

Cindy Bilisko, Township Liaison
Dale Francisco

Peg Redmore




This page is maintained by the Wauconda Area Library.  
Webmaster can be contacted by Email.